Full List of Winners of the Best FIFA Football Award Held in Zurich

What an incredible year (2016) Cristiano Ronaldo had. The Portugal captain,  was named FIFA’s best player for 2016 on Monday night in Zurich.  It was the fourth time the Real Madrid star would win the award. 

Best men’s player of the year

Ronaldo beat the challenge posed by runner-up, Lionel Messi and Antoine Griezmann to complete a clean sweep of all top individual awards for 2016.

Speaking after receiving the award, Ronaldo exclaimed: “Wow, wow, wow! “2016 was the best year of my career,”  

“It is not the first time but it is the first time for this award. 2016, wow. I want to thank my team-mates. I was able to achieve what I could. 

“I would like to thank all those who voted for me, the fans the media. I don’t have anything to add, awards speak for themselves.”

“I am sorry that some from Barcelona are not with us but that is understandable.”

FIFA men’s coach of the year

Leicester manager Claudio Ranieri, was named the coach of the year in the men category. He beat the challenge from Zinedine Zidan. Ranieri had helped Leicester win the English Premier League title against all odds.

In his acceptance speech, Ranieri said: “What happened last year was something strange. The God of football said Leicester must win,”

Best Female player of the year

Carli Lloyd of the United States picked up the award for FIFA player of the year in the women’s category. It was the second time she would win the award.

Lloyd said in her speech: “I honestly was not expecting this, I know Melanie did fantastic in the 2016 Olympics.”

Best Female coach of the year

The FIFA women’s coach of the year went to Germany’s Silvia Neid. Neid had won the award in 2010 – She beat two former winners, Pia Sundhage of Sweden, and Jill Ellis of the United States to her prize.

The Goal of the Year

The best goal of year award, popularly known as the Puskas award was won by Mohd Faiz Subri. He had scored with a wildly swerving long-range free kick for Malaysian club, Penang.

FIFPro World XI

The FIFPro world best XI which was selected by players vote organized by international union FIFPro are:

Goalkeeper: Manuel Neuer (Germany, Bayern Munich)

Defenders: Dani Alves (Brazil, Juventus), Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid), Gerard Pique (Spain, Barcelona), Marcelo (Brazil, Real Madrid)

Midfielders: Toni Kroos (Germany, Real Madrid), Andres Iniesta (Spain, Barcelona), Luka Modric (Croatia,Real Madrid)

Forwards: Messi (Argentina, Barcelona), Luis Suarez (Uruguay, Barcelona), Ronaldo (Portugal, Real Madrid).

Best FIFA fans Award

The inaugural edition of the FIFA fan award was chosen by fans and the prize went to supporters of Liverpool and Borussia Dortmund, who joined in singing the English club’s anthem “You’ll Never Walk Alone” before a Europa League quarterfinal game.

FIFA Fair Play Award

Atletico Nacional won the FIFA Fair Play Award. The Colombian club conceded the Copa Sudamericana title to Chapecoense after most of the Chapecoense team members died in a plane crash on their way to play the first leg of the Copa Sudamericana title.

Kingsley Ukpai

I write, I write and I keep writing... Most importantly, I make sure everything I write makes sense!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

FREE eBook - Blogging Cash Course
Subscribe to our newsletter and we will send your free ebook to your email right now!
Thank You! We will send free eBook within a while.