INEC Declares Darius Ishaku of PDP Winner of Taraba State Governorship Election

The Taraba state governor identified as Darius Ishaku, of the PDP, has been re-elected for a second term in the state.

The Taraba state returning officer identified as Professor Shehu Iya, who announced the Governorship result, at the INEC office in Jalingo, the state capital of Taraba state, made it clear that the incumbent governor and PDP candidate, Darius Ishaku, polled a total of 520,433 votes, while Sani Danladi, the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate registered a total vote count of 362,735 votes.

Darius Ishaku of the PDP emerged winner of over 11 LGAs, which includes the likes of  Takum, Zing, Yorro, Kai, Bali, Donga, Wukari, Bali, Gashaka, Kurmi and Ussa LGAs, while his main contender and rival won the local governments which include the likes of Jalingo, Gassol, Ibbi and Karim Lami.

CHECK THIS OUT >> Ethiopian Airline Retrieves Black Box of Crashed Airplane <<

Hassan Mijinyawa identified as Darius Ishaku’s chief press secretary, through a statement on Monday, March 11th, made it clear that the government had imposed a dusk to dawn curfew on the state capital, Jalingo, without making his reasons known for the curfew.

The curfew, meanwhile, excludes the staff of the electoral commission and key agents and observers.

Hassan Mijinyawa statement read:

“The curfew will run from 6 am to 6 pm daily, however, some INEC officials, key Agents of political parties and observers involved in the collation of the election results are exempted.  Governor Ishiaku enjoined the people of the state to continue to be law-abiding as he urged security agencies to ensure strict compliance.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *