Niger LG Election: APC Wins 22 Out of 25 Seats

The All Progressive Congress (APC) has won 22 out of the 25 local government seats in the just concluded local government elections in Niger state.

The Chairman of the Niger state Independent Electoral Commission (NSIEC), Aminu Baba at a collation centre said that nine political parties presented 85 Chairmanship and Councillorship candidates for the elections.

From the result read by the Returning Officers, Baba said that APC won 22 local government areas while PDP won one local government, the other two local government areas are still being awaited at the time of releasing the results.

READ: You Attempt to Discredit Governorship Election Dead on Arrival Kogi Gov’t Tells PDP

“From the results submitted by our Returning Officers, the All Progressives Party (APC) has won the chairmanship position in 22 local governments while Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) won Gbako local government.

“Two local government areas, Mashegu and Tafa are yet to submit their results to the Commission.”

He also revealed that seven wards in Shiroro, Chachanga, Bida and Rafi local government area were declared inconclusive.

“It is also pertinent to note that one ward in Shiroro local government (Bangajiya ward) is inconclusive; similarly, Tudun Wada north in Chachanga local government is also inconclusive.

“Bida local government has four wards which were declared inconclusive while in Rafi local government, Kakuri ward was declared inconclusive.”

READ: We Had Civil War in Kogi, Not Election – Dino Melaye

Baba who noted that the process was peaceful, indicated that there was no sign of violence in the state.

He, therefore, expressed appreciation to the maturity and good sportsmanship exhibited by the political parties that fielded candidates in the just conducted elections.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *